User Guide

Dashboard

The dashboard is the first screen that will appear when the program is launched. You can change between the different tabs by clicking the icons in the navigation bar on the left.

This tab shows the current state of Blocker. At the top, it will count down the number of minutes left in your daily allowance (if available). At the bottom, all active blocks will be listed in a table.

The table will include the block list name, type, remaining time and the next break (if available). In the type column, timers will look like this: , while scheduled blocks will look like this: .

Active blocks that are locked (can't be canceled) will have this icon: while blocks that can be changed will be given this icon: .

Screenshot of Dashboard
Screenshot of Statistics

Statistics

This feature first needs to be enabled by going to Settings > Statistics. Once enabled, this tab will show you the top 5 applications and websites used (by minutes) over a period of time.

You can change the time period at the top and click "update" to see the graph update. The default timeframe is 30 days and this can't be changed. You can hover over the bars to see the actual number of minutes used that day.

Statistics are never sent off of your computer and enabling this feature is optional (except if you want to set a daily allowance). You can choose to not collect private browsing data by turning that option off in Settings > Statistics.

Block Lists

The block list page will contain one list by default called "Distractions." Click the "EDIT" portion (or the little right arrow) beneath the title to edit a block list. You can add a new block list by clicking the "Add new block list..." button.

To add a URL to the lists, press enter to submit it to the list below. To remove sites from the list, click the URL and press the "Del" key or backspace. Or, click the remove button. You can select more than one site by holding the "Ctrl" key while clicking.

You'll notice that prefixes like www. and http:// will be automatically removed and that the URL will be in lowercase. This is normal, Blocker is not case-sensitive.

Blocker comes with 3 pre-made lists (Distractions, Adult Sites and Proxy sites). You can add them while editing a list by clicking Lists > Import list... You can also import or export your own lists by going Lists > Import from file.../Export to text file...

To block applications, simply go to the tab and browse to the .exe file (on Windows) or .app (on macOS). On Windows 10, you'll also see a new tab called Win 10 apps. This gives you the ability to block applications that aren't exe files.

Screenshot of Block Lists

Block the entire Internet

Wildcards can be used to block the entire Internet by adding *.* to the block list. You can also use wildcards to block parts of URL's, like Google searches of unicorns: google.*/*q=*unicorns*

Block specific pages

If you'd still want to allow Facebook but block a specific page, like a Facebook profile, you can do this by adding: facebook.com/username

Exceptions (white-listing)

Websites can be added to the exceptions list if you'd like to access to them when they would otherwise be blocked. For example if reddit.com is blocked, but you still want to access a subreddit:
reddit.com/r/getmotivated

Screenshot of Timers

Timers

A timer is useful when you want to block a list until a certain point of time. A timer is not necessary if you want to block the list on the schedule. By default, timers are locked so that you can't reverse it. You can change this for future timers by going to Settings > Locking.

To start a timer, select the time you'd like to be blocked until, then choose a "break" (if available). Then, switch the toggle to "ON". A pop-up confirming the amount of time will appear to which you can answer "Yes" to.

Schedule

The scheduler has time broken up into 15 minute periods. An event on the calendar simply means that the corresponding list is being blocked during that timeframe. You are allowed to overlap events on the calendar. This is done by clicking and dragging the event onto an already occupied timeslot.

To schedule a block, just click and drag your mouse where you'd like to add something. In the edit window that will appear after you release your mouse you can select a block list and a break option (if available).

The schedule will automatically repeat itself every week. You can lock the schedule until a certain point of time by going to Settings > Locking.

Screenshot of Schedule

Settings

There are multiple sub-tabs to this page, which will be broken down in different sections. We'll start with the break feature here.

Sprints are useful if you'd prefer to alternate the block on and off while you work to allow for breaks at predefined times. If you'd rather have more control over your breaks, daily time limits provide a daily allowance for items in your block list.

Screenshot of Settings

Locking

"Lock timers", lets you decide whether or not to lock timers that are started (from now on). If enabled, timers that are started can't be edited or turned off.

"Lock the scheduler during block" prevents you from editing or removing blocks from the schedule during blocks.

The "Lock schedule until" feature lets you lock the schedule until a certain time.

Display

These settings are used to determine if the interface should show times in 24-hour mode or use am and pm.

You can also change whether or not you get notifications for when blocks and breaks start and end. By default, there is a two minute warning before a block starts, you can also turn this off here.

Extensions

Since this version requires browser extensions to be installed, you can use this tab to re-install the extensions if they are removed for some reason, or if you recently added a new browser.

Password

The password feature is useful if you want to add a little security to who has access to your statistics and settings. Note that this feature does not encrypt your data. It is still available on the hard drive.

There is no way to recover this password. If the password is forgotten, you will need to completely re-install Cold Turkey Blocker.

Screenshot of Password

Frozen Turkey

Frozen Turkey is a feature that helps you schedule time away from your computer. When activated, you'll be locked out and completely unable to use your computer (via Windows lock screen or a fullscreen app in macOS).

When enabled, you will be able to select "Frozen Turkey" as a block list on the schedule tab. Unfortunately, you can't use a timer to go Frozen Turkey.

This feature can be used in conjunction with sprints (work = locked out and break = allowed to login), however you can't use daily allowances.

Screenshot of Frozen Turkey
Start a timer with two clicks

Two click start

A timed block can quickly be started with only two clicks from the system menu icon.